Brownie Bake Part 1

There is a reason for the part 1, let me explain…

So all week I’ve been dying to try out some Oreo brownies. Now I searched high and low until I remembered I’d seen Lorraine Pascsale making something similar. Her Cookies and Cream Fudge Brownies sound to die for so I thought I’d give it a try, with Bake Off back on I think I’m catching the bug!

We were having a cheap week this week so I bought most of the ingredients from my local Aldi, making it even sweeter as it saved me money! FullSizeRender (2)

The recipe was classed as easy so I was pretty confident I could nail it. It was easy to follow, however one tip I’d give is don’t bother trying to grate the chocolate especially if you only have a box grater! I tried and gave up after 30 seconds – it took way too long and most of it stuck to the inside of the grater. So I just chopped the rest.

FullSizeRender (3)FullSizeRender (4)

Moving on to the next step, which in hind sight I’m not sure whether it made a difference or not, was to try and add the sugar and other ingredients down the side of the whisked egg mixture. This is to stop you losing all the air you’ve just pummelled into it but I think my glass bowl was a bit on the small side and so the other mixtures ended up expanding into the middle of the bowl. Next time I’ll try the bigger size.

Do I have to wait until it's baked? It smells so good!

Do I have to wait until it’s baked? It smells so good! (By the way I didn’t actually eat it – it has raw eggs in remember!)

With the cookies you only put a third in, the rest get gently squished into the mixture at the end. It looked really effective however, I suggest putting them in a way so that you have a clear path when you need to cut. I plopped mine all over the place and this did prove difficult when cutting them up.

So pretty!

So pretty!

Now for the exciting part, or so I thought. They went in fine, got them out after 30 minutes at 180 degrees C as it said and the house smelt like a piece of heaven! It then asks you to let them cool in the tin. I must have left them for about 90 minutes and they were only just cool so don’t do them when you are in a rush!

I was so excited I lifted them out in their little paper sling and landed them safely ready for squaring. But that’s where it all seemed to end – the excitement that is. When I cut them and lifted them they were all soggy on the bottom, they were supposed to be ‘gooey’ in the middle but to me they seemed undercooked and there was a strange white layer along the bottom of some of them, almost as though something had settled.

I must say I was devastated. They looked so amazing!…

So good but yet so bad (and not in a good way)!

So good but yet so bad (and not in a good way)!

…And I still don’t know what happened to them. Here is a list of possibilities…

  • The oven in my kitchen could be dodgy and there for the temp wasn’t high enough,
  • Therefore 30 minutes was not long enough.
  • She says eggs but not what size, I happened to have large only so maybe they should have been smaller meaning the mixture was too wet.
  • I used Oreo alternatives, nothing wrong to eat them, but for a recipe if they say a brand maybe I should have used the right ones. I wonder if that’s what caused the white layer.
I didn’t risk eating one the last thing I needed when I had a day with the kids at home was a dodgy tummy, so unfortunately they made the bin happy instead. This is where the part 1 comes in. Hubby has taken the challenge to give it a second go to see if he can do better – no doubt they have to beat my poor attempt.
I hope I haven’t put you off this recipe – it has lots of good reviews! If you want to give it a go please follow the link to Lorraine’s Brownies, and if you’re a baker and you can give me an idea of what went wrong please leave me a comment I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.
Happy Baking!
IMG_4828

 

One thought on “Brownie Bake Part 1

  1. Pingback: Brownie Bake Part 2! – Success at last | Rabbit & Roo

Leave a Reply

