My new life as a Hairy Dieter!

OK! So it’s not as personal as it sounds (I haven’t suddenly thrown up my arms and declared ‘I’ll never shave again’, promise!). No – I’m talking about becoming a dieter who has been totally inspired and hopefully on the way to being transformed by the Hairy Bikers going on a diet.

Now for those who don’t know me, I have struggled with my weight for over 10 years, having the children hasn’t helped either. I’ve tried every diet going and nothing has lasted longer than maybe, 12 months?

3 weeks ago I tuned into a programme about the Hairy Bikers trying to lose weight, hence Hairy Dieters! I hadn’t really seen anything about them before but it sounded interesting so I gave it a go. 60 minutes later I was hooked! I couldn’t believe how down to earth and real they were about their journey, how much they wanted to lose weight but still love their food – exactly how I felt. They found a way to cook all the usual things but in a way that really dropped the pounds. And the best thing about it was, I thought ‘I could do that!’

2 days after that programme I stopped everything, cold turkey! I dropped to 1500 calories a day, bought their second dieters cookbook, planned all my meals, and went back to drinking 1.5L of water a day (this was a habit I recently managed to take up after having an adversity to water since I was a child). I have to say one thing – that first week has never been so hard! There were so many times I could have jacked it all in, the cravings were pulling at me, the occasional hunger pangs felt horrible, but a Scottish oat cracker later and it subsided.

I haven’t given up yet! It will be 2 whole weeks tomorrow since I crossed the line. It may not seem long for most people but for me that’s 14 days of saying no thanks to everything I’ve got fat on, weaning myself off the sugar I was addicted to and drifting through a mine field of daily temptation. At first I couldn’t even watch the food network, it was too painful! 😀 but a week later and I finally felt in control, for the first time ever! I’m now weighing my food, counting my calories and still enjoying every meal. That book has saved me. Great thing is the children love the food too.

I’ve got a lot to lose and I’m taking it a day at a time, but I just really hope that was the last first week!

 

IMG_7127

Just some of the gorgeous food I’ve had the pleasure of cooking and eating last week!

 

IMG_4828

 

Leave a Reply

