3 is the magic number!

Hi guys sorry I’ve been absent for what seems like forever, but life has been a little hectic lately. You know what it’s like, school ends, hundreds of hours of washing uniform followed by the school holiday maybem, and buying new uniform, oh and then this happened…


Oh and just because I can’t read these things I had to double check…


…so yep our little family is getting bigger! Along with my appetite and belly.

This news although exciting has taken so much getting used to. Saying that makes it sound like we hadn’t planned it, but we had we had planned it about 18 months earlier, but unfortunately plans don’t always turn out the way you think they will. With my first two children we fell pregnant within a month or two of trying, but this time just didn’t work out. It has certainly taken a lot longer this time round, and I certainly feel for everyone who has had to wait this long and longer to conceive. It’s so disheartening when you go month to month thinking you are pregnant to then take a negative test. I’m sure your mind tricks you, you want it so bad it makes you think you are recognising symptoms then nothing, nadda, just a pile of wasted pee sticks and a lot of money down the toilet too!

So taking this test was a surprise, I hadn’t felt all the imaginary symptoms I thought I’d had in the past but although I had irregular cycles and had gone as long as 8 weeks between monthlys before, I’d never gone 11 weeks, so that’s why we thought we had better see what the stick of truth said, and ta-dah! Out of no where it was finally positive. 

It took a good week for it to sink in, then you have an unbearable period of waiting. Waiting to see the doctor to announce your news to a health professional, waiting to to get the sacred green notes, waiting to be able to tell all your friends and family, waiting to see your baby on the screen for the first time. Agonising, impatient, waiting. 

I didn’t sleep for the two days before our scan, the doctors didn’t know how pregnant I was because my dates were out, all my sickness had gone and I was convinced they would scan me and there would be nothing there. The last few weeks had felt like such a dream I thought I was actually imagining it this time too. 

I am now 13 weeks, the doctors were wrong about my dates, I was closer. The scan turned out to be fine after all and I am relieved to be at the end of the first trimester. 

Seeing the kids reaction to the news was the best day of my year so far, my 5 year old daughter has already chosen a baby grow and she melts my heart.

2 thoughts on “3 is the magic number!

Leave a Reply

