Hanging out at Half Term

This week has been the October Half Term holiday and we didn’t have a lot planned but it seems we did lots of baking – I think we’ve had a really nice week.

Here’s a quick rundown of what we got up to…

Rabbit spent the whole weekend dressed as a witch after we put this outfit together, and it only cost me £3!

Mum and dad gave her the dress which they picked up from a charity shop – cost to me £0 😀

We had the hat from last year – cost this year £0 😀

The tights were a bargain from Aldi, they came in a two pack with a plain purple pair as well for £1.99, she wore holes in the feet within 2 days but she hates wearing shoes – they’ll be easy to sew up. (I actually could have got away without paying for these too as I later found some from last year under the stairs – doh!

The broom was really cool and looked pretty authentic – this was just £1 from Wilko – love it!

img_8486

First off this week we had loads of cornflakes to use up so what better way than chocolate cornflake cakes! We used Swiss chocolate (only because it was on offer!), and I decided to add some marshmallow Fluff, but this in hindsight may have been a mistake as it made it go a bit claggy. They were yummy though and I love the Halloween themed cases we got from Asda- they were orange with bats all over.

fullsizerenderb

We went to see Finding Dory this week – I love using the cheap junior showings it’s worth waiting a few months rather than spending a fortune, all 4 of us got in for £7.20!

We made some Halloween butter cookies – which seem to becoming an annual tradition, the recipe is so simple, just butter, flour, icing sugar and 2 minutes in the mixer. The cutters we used were a Wilton set I think and we did a gingerbread man to use as a skeleton. We used the Tate&Lyle Royal Icing in a box to ice them and my Wilton colour right set – this year however I think I made it too runny – as you can see with the skeleton’s face he melted off the cookie – oops! But it was fun to do with the kids and we had a laugh 🙂

We had a surprise visit from the tooth fairy (so Roo is now rather gummy) – at least I actually remembered to pay up this time!

fullsizerenderc1

I ended the week with an unexpected mummy daughter day as Roo went off to a football day school with a friend. So I took Rabbit to the park in the morning and then in the afternoon we did our favourite thing and baked some more, she loves it especially when she wears her chefs hat- so cute! The cakes were so moist (yummy!) not sure if that’s because all I had was Olive spread when I needed margarine? And we tried a recipe for chocolate buttercream it was amazing so we will definitely use it again – you can find it here!

So it’s fair to say we’ve had a good share of yummy treats to eat up this holiday! I think a week is just a nice amount of time to pack with activities without running out of money or getting bored, any longer and I always struggle to keep them occupied.

Certainly making the most of these more relaxed holidays though before our lives get very baby-busy again next year!

img_8068-1

Leave a Reply

