28 Weeks and GTT results!

Hello 3rd trimester!!!

Wow that has felt a long time coming, but somehow I can almost see a light at the end of the tunnel. In fact I’m starting to get excited this week as I imagine holding such a precious little bundle again. I’m sure I’m in denial about shitty nappies and sleepless nights but let the ignorance continue until it becomes inevitable that’s what I say.

So this week is week 28, only 14 left to go (yes I’m adding 2 for comfort as I went over with Rabbit and Roo). I’ve also sorted out mat leave this week so am now on a mental countdown to finishing work as well. Jelly bean has been kicking a lot this week which is reassuring but I’m sure he’s grown again as I feel about to burst some days and can’t fathom how he can get any bigger, he won’t fit!

The end of this week I am having my first growth scan, which is kind of exciting too because I’ve never had one this late before so it will be interesting to see if I can see any more detail than last time. I will be having those every four weeks until the end now, so the next one could be just before Christmas!

I got my GTT results or should I say I didn’t – get a phone call that is, so I’m assuming all is well so yay! Still keeping my fingers crossed as that is now one less obstacle between me and the home birth. I wrote a draft birth plan this week, and it was hard. I was trying not to talk about hospital but I know it could be out of my hands in the end either through complication or induction.

I still don’t know what to do about the pool hire. I watched a birth video by one of the Channel Mums this week and it really bought it back to me how much pain you can be in, so it’s in my mind that I don’t want to not get it and then really regret it on the day because the pain is too much. On the other hand I listened to the positive affirmations on my hypnobirthing app as I got into bed the other night and practised my deep breathing. I sent myself to sleep so they must help. I also felt really calm in the total darkness so I think the least light in the room during labour the better for me – don’t think hubby will let me lie in the bed though…

img_8068-2

Leave a Reply

