Due date this week!!

Sorry I didn’t realise it had been that long since I last wrote. That means I have been off work four weeks this week and it’s gone quick. I wish I could say it had been an eventful four weeks but unfortunately not. 

Excitingly this week marks our due date (on the 16th!) so currently as I write this I am 39 weeks and 6 days. Last time I wrote I said about having sweeps from 39+3 but the midwife I saw at 38 weeks (yet another one) said she wouldn’t recommend starting them until 40 weeks at the earliest. So I am still waiting and hoping it will get things going over the weekend.

I’ve read so many other mums in my February birth forum who have had their babies early or are having long periods of irregular contractions, that I am starting to feel left out. But I’m trying to stay positive, enjoy every minute I’m not in pain and just keep remembering that in another 4 weeks he will definitely be here as I can’t go far over 14 days before being induced. This is one thing we want to avoid not least because I hated it last time but also we’ve hired the pool which has to go back in two weeks if I have to be induced. 😦 

In myself at the moment I am finding it increasingly uncomfortable to walk too far and even just picking the kids up from school, having driven half way there, feels like the baby is about to fall out at any moment. His kicks are so strong sometimes they really hurt. And sometimes I feel like my waters could go at any minute but alas they don’t. 

I’m just keeping everything crossed (except my legs haha!) that the sweeps will be successful and we can have a little bundle delivered next week 🙂 

Who knows next time I write I may have someone to introduce you to!

Leave a Reply

